Would you like to see more "Artist Spotlights" like the Nitzer Ebb Spotlight

Thursday, September 6, 2007

Various Artists Compilation - Philadelphia Classics

If you have been an avid reader of this blog, you know that Billboard magazine did not chart only 12" singles for the Dance/Disco chart, but they also included 7" singles and full LP's. Today I pulled out one of those entire LP's . It's a great double LP compilation from 1978.

Philadelphia Classics is a compilation of the great Philly sound of the mid-late 70's. It is also sort of a label sampler, since every artist on this compilation was with Philadelphia International. All songs on this compilation were mixed by Tom Moulton, who isn't credited on the LP issue. Some of the longer versions, like MFSB - Love Is The Message, were created especially for this release.
The original press of this was in a gatefold sleeve, while the repress had the 2x12" vinyl together in one sleeve.

Taken from the original double LP on Philadelphia International 34940
Download entire LP in one Zip file

A1. MFSB - Love Is The Message - 11:27
A2. MFSB - TSOP (Sound Of Philadelphia) - 5:42
B1. Three Degrees - Dirty Ol' Man - 8:17
B2. O'Jays - I Love Music - 9:39
C1. Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Don't Leve Me This Way - 11:00
C2. O'Jays - Love Train - 6:14
D1. Intruders - I'll Always Love My Mama - 9:41
D2. Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Bad Luck - 8:00
Entire LP charted on January 7, 1978. Spent 1 week on the chart and reached #34

1 comment:

Tryst said...

Nice compilation i love the sound of Philly,thanks for posting